Breasts: they need our support

Another journalisticky piece. It’s the first time I’ve put my thoughts down about this topic.

Tonic

By Youlendree Appasamy

These things attached to my body. That’s what I thought my breasts were. What I was indoctrinated to believe is that breasts are centres of femininity, of pleasure, of womanliness. That my breasts signified a key part of my identity as lady. I scorned this identity thrust upon me by virtue of a random part of my body. The lump in my breast was merely a physiological defect. I did feel defective for a long time. The first time I felt an anomaly in my right breast was when I was 16. That is the first time I felt it. I did not know how long it had been sitting there, growing in size. My mother never took me seriously: she thought that the processes of puberty were rendering my body strange and that I was overreacting to these strange changes.

View original post 406 more words

Leave a Reply

